Athletics Hosts 5th Annual UMBYS Award Ceremony

5th Annual UMBYS photo gallery

BOSTON, Mass. – On Wednesday, May 9 the UMass Boston Department of Athletics hosted their fifth annual UMBYS aware ceremony in the Campus Center Ballroom.  Athletes, coaches, and administrators came together to honor the many achievements of the past athletic and academic year.

In total a combined 42 individual and team awards were handed out to various players and teams for both athletic accomplishments as well as their athletic achievements.

The afternoon started off with the presentation of the team MVP awards.  Below are the team MVP recipients:

Women’s Basketball: Kirsten Morrison
Men’s Basketball: Isaac Jenkins
Men’s Soccer: Brycen Dowd
Women’s Soccer: Samantha Place
Volleyball: Cassy Hanneman
Cross-Country: Xhulio Uruci
Women’s Indoor Track & Field: Samara Faustin
Men’s Indoor Track & Field: Tylor Hart
Men’s Ice Hockey: Kevin Bendel
Women’s Ice Hockey: Leah Hallett
Baseball: Matt  Consiglio
Men’s Lacrosse: Leo Ajemian
Softball: Sue Killilea
Men’s Tennis: David Hernandez
Women’s Tennis: Anitra Kloczewiak
Men’s Outdoor Track & Field: Kebba Nasso
Women’s Outdoor Track & Field: Samara Faustin

After that the UMBY awards were handed out which recognized the athletes dedication both on and off the court and field and in the classroom.

Men’s Einstein Small Team Academic Award – Cross-Country
Women’s Einstein Small Team Academic Award – Tennis
Men’s Einstein Large Team Academic Award – Ice Hockey
Women’s Einstein Large Team Academic Award – Basketball
Men’s Einstein Academic Award – Patrick Noble (Baseball)
Women’s Einstein Academic Award – Leah Hallett (Ice Hockey) & Elizabeth Dow (Basketball)
Female Rookie Einstein – Dani Perkins (Soccer)
Male Rookie Einstein – Alex Scola (Hockey)

Male Strength and Conditioning Award – Kyle Thebado (Baseball)
Female Strength and Conditioning Award – Cassy Hanneman (Volleyball)

Male Breakout Rookie of the Year – Kebba Nasso (Track & Field), Vinny DeLucia (Basketball)
Female Breakout Rookie of the Year – Kirsten Morrison (Volleyball & Basketball), Krista Ledin (Soccer)

Men’s Team Performance of the Year – Men’s Hockey beating #1 Norwich University and Men’s Indoor Track and Field placing third at Little East Conference championship meet
Women’s Team Performance of the Year – Volleyball winning third straight Little East Conference title

Male Individual Performance of the Year – Jim Ennis (Ice Hockey), scored first collegiate hat trick on his senior day
Female Individual Performance of the Year – Kirstin Mulry (Soccer) – first player to record 100 career points

The final awards were handed out by Assistant Athletic Director Cheryl Aaron and Vice Chancellor of Athletics and Recreation Charlie Titus.

Cheryl Aaron presented the William Puerto Award which is presented to the student-athlete who displays an exemplary level of sportsmanship, ability and overall contribution to the department and athletic program at UMass Boston.  The winner is a graduating senior or student-athlete who has completed all of his or her eligibility and is a three or four-year participant in varsity athletics.

Female Puerto Award Recipient – Elizabeth Dow (Basketball)
Male Puerto Award Recipient – Jim Ennis (Ice Hockey) and Geoff Ebbs (Basketball)

Vice Chancellor Titus presented the Athletic Director’s Distinguished Student-Athlete Award which is given annually to an individual who has displayed an exemplary academic and athletic career at UMass Boston.  The recipient is a graduating senior or person who has completed all of his or her eligibility, was a three or four-year participant in intercollegiate sports and has been an outstanding overall contributor to the promotion and reputation of UMass Boston academics and athletics.

Female Athletics Director Award Recipient – Cassy Hanneman (Volleyball) & Samantha Place (Soccer)
Male Athletics Director Award Recipient – Mark  McCormack (Baseball)