Sept. 19, 2009

NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA - University of Massachusetts Boston junior Patrick Day (Quincy, MA) was the Beacons' top finisher at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Shriners Cross Country Invitational, placing 127th with a personal-record time of 27:44. The men's squad finished 33rd in the five-mile race today in North Dartmouth, MA.

UMass Boston totaled 888 points, while Keene State College won the team event with a score of 43 points. American International College's Glarius Rop was the meet's top finisher with a mark of 24:05.

Day's time placed him 37 spots higher than last year and was 48 seconds faster as well. Freshman Igal Bubar (Newton, MA) came in 176th with a mark of 28:56, while junior Mitchell Haley (Dorchester, MA) placed 207th with 30 minutes flat of running time. Junior Michael Spinato (Westwood, MA) was just 11 seconds behind to finish 210th at 30:11, while Nyadenya Inyagna (Boston, MA) rounded out the men's scoring for the Beacons with a time of 30:29 to place 220th.

Freshman Robin Rader (Duxbury, MA) was the top finisher for the UMass Boston women with a time of 22:29 in the five-kilometer run to place 226th. MIT won the women's team event with 60 points and was led by first-place winner Jacqui Wentz with a mark of 17:40. The Beacons finished with 1175 points to place them 39th overall as a team.

Freshman Jacqui Brown (Lowell, MA) was just two seconds behind Rader for a 229th-place showing for UMass Boston, while senior Joy Risko (Bristol, RI) bettered her time from a year ago by 61 seconds to place 245th. Sophomore Cherie Lavin (Falmouth, MA) improved considerably from her result last season in the race, shaving over four minutes off of her time to clock in at 24:07 for a 262nd place showing. Junior Celia Leclerc (Reville, France) was the final scorer for the Beacons with a time of 26:47 to place 275th overall.

The Beacons will run again on Saturday, September 26 at Franklin Park in Dorchester, MA, when they compete in the USA Track and Field New England Codfish Bowl at 10:00 a.m.