Charlie Titus Named to Little East Conference Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

Click here to read official release

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. – The Little East Conference announced the members of the inaugural class of the Little East Hall of Fame this afternoon. The 11-member class is comprised of five athletic administrators, four former student-athletes, and two coaches. The inductees will be honored during a ceremony at the Providence Marriot Hotel on Saturday, October 27.

The five athletic administers include: Charlie Titus of the University of Massachusetts Boston, Al Bean of University of Southern Maine, John P. Clark of Plymouth State University, Richard Costello of the University of Southern Maine, and Dr. William Moore. Bean, Costello and Moore each served as Commissioner of the Little East Conference, while Clark and Titus played an integral role in the formation of the conference.

The four former student-athletes include: Alex Butler (1993-1997) of Rhode Island College, Allison Coleman (2000-2004) of Eastern Connecticut State University, Adam DeChristopher (1995-1999) of Plymouth State University, and Ashley Marble (2003-2007) of the University of Southern Maine.

Brian Baptise of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Gary Fifield of the University of Southern Maine will be inducted as the two coaches that helped position the Little East as a regional and national power in the sport of basketball.

One of the founding fathers of the Little East Conference, Titus commissioned the first organizational meeting to begin the process of establishing the Little East Conference at UMass Boston in September of 1984. He is the only person to lead the University of Massachusetts Boston athletics department. In 2004, he was promoted to Vice Chancellor for Athletics and Recreation, Special Projects, and Intramurals. In addition to his executive responsibilities, Titus is the only men's basketball coach the Beacons' program has ever known. He has led UMass Boston to two NCAA Division III tournament appearances, three Eastern College Athletic Conference Division III Northeast tournaments, and the 2006 Little East Tournament Championship. Titus was chosen as the National Association of Basketball Coaches Division III Northeast Coach of the Year in 2006, while receiving the conference's top award in 1997 and 2006. 

Information for this release provided by the Little East Conference executive office.