April 20, 2010

Box Score

BOSTON, MA - The Bridgewater State College men's tennis team defeated host University of Massachusetts Boston, 9-0, today in a Little East Conference match played at the Boston College High School courts in Boston, MA. The Bears improve to 6-4 overall, including 2-0 in LEC play, while the Beacons fall to 1-9 and 0-2.

Bridgewater State did not drop a set in singles play with freshman Nicholas Desisto (Uxbridge, MA) leading the way at fifth singles in a 6-0, 6-0 win over freshman Brian Sou (Revere, MA). Classmate Matt Mailhot (Oxford, MA) was a double winner, taking down sophomore T. Leng (Phnom Penh, Cambodia), 6-0, 6-2, at number one singles for the Bears, while teaming with sophomore Mike Zagame (Uxbridge, MA) to defeat Leng and freshman Ryan Swann (Warren, VT) at first doubles, 8-2, in pro-set. Zagame also won his singles match with a 6-1, 6-1 decision over Swann at number three. Sophomore Adam Laithy (North Smithfield, RI) was a winner at number two singles for Bridgewater State, 6-1, 6-2, over junior Himanshu Dubey (Lucknow, India) and paired with junior Nicholas Amrose (Uxbridge, MA) to overcome Dubey and freshman John Tran Nguyen (Revere, MA) at number two doubles, 8-4. Amrose was the victor in his singles match at number four, dropping just a game in a 6-1, 6-0 victory over Nguyen, while freshman Greg Sheedy (South Dennis, MA) picked up a win at sixth singles for the Bears over junior Andrey Boguslavskiy (Volgograd, Russia). Sheedy combined with freshman Shawn Robinson (Uxbridge, MA) for an 8-2 triumph at third doubles over Boguslavskiy and freshman El Jan Daulo (Koronadal City, Philippines).

The Beacons will be in action again on Thursday, April 22 when they host Lesley University at 3:30 p.m. at the BC High courts, while Bridgewater State plays again on April when it travels to Milton, MA for a 3:00 p.m. match with Curry College.

Singles competition 1. Matthew Mailhot (BSC) def. T. Leng (UMBMT) 6-0, 6-2 2. Adam Laithy (BSC) def. Himanshu Dubey (UMBMT) 6-1, 6-2

3. Mike Zagame (BSC) def. Ryan Swann (UMBMT) 6-1, 6-1

4. Nicholas Amrose (BSC) def. John Tran Nguyen (UMBMT) 6-1, 6-0

5. Nicholas Desisto (BSC) def. Brian Sou (UMBMT) 6-0, 6-0

6. Greg Sheedy (BSC) def. Andrey Boguslavskiy (UMBMT) 6-1, 6-0

Doubles competition 1. Matthew Mailhot/Mike Zagame (BSC) def. T. Leng/Ryan Swann (UMBMT) 8-2 2. Nicholas Amrose/Adam Laithy (BSC) def. Himanshu Dubey/John Tran Nguyen (UMBMT) 8-4 3. Greg Sheedy/Shawn Robinson (BSC) def. Andrey Boguslavskiy/El Jan Daulo (UMBMT) 8-2