UMass Boston Athletics Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

BOSTON, Mass. – On Monday, May 12 the UMass Boston Department of Athletics hosted their seventh annual UMBY’s award ceremony in the Campus Center Ballroom.  Athletes, coaches, and administrators came together to honor the many achievements of the past athletic and academic year.

The afternoon started off with the presentation of the team MVP awards.  Below are the team MVP recipients:

Women’s Basketball: Olivia Murphy
Men’s Basketball: Carl Joseph
Men’s Soccer: Marcus Pizzetti
Women’s Soccer: Sam Cristoforo
Volleyball: Corrine Porter
Men's Cross-Country: Tad Delaney
Women's Cross-Country: Angelica Pizzi
Women’s Indoor Track & Field: Renee O'Brien
Men’s Indoor Track & Field: Tylor Hart
Men’s Ice Hockey: Travis Daniel
Women’s Ice Hockey: Sam Fallon
Baseball: Jamill Moquete
Men’s Lacrosse: Andrew Guy
Softball: Kristina Bove
Men's Outdoor Track & Field: Carl Joseph
Women's Outdoor Track & Field: Hulerie McGuffie
Women’s Tennis: Anitra Kloczewiak

After that the UMBY awards were handed out which recognized the athlete’s dedication both on and off the court, ice, and field and in the classroom.

Men’s Einstein Small Team Academic Award – Men’s Cross Country
Women’s Einstein Small Team Academic Award – Women’s Tennis
Men’s Einstein Large Team Academic Award – Men’s Ice Hockey
Women’s Einstein Large Team Academic Award – Women’s Soccer & Women's Ice Hockey
Einstein Rookies –
Albee Daley (Men's Ice Hockey)
Michael Courtney (Baseball)
Christopher Sian Aguirre (Track and Field)
Elizabeth Glavan (Volleyball)
Julia Murphy (Volleyball) 

Male Strength and Conditioning Award – Jamill Moquete (Baseball)
Female Strength and Conditioning Award – Renee O'Brien (Track and Field)

Male Breakout Rookie of the Year – Edmilson Barros (Men’s Soccer)
Female Breakout Rookie of the Year – Elizabeth Glavan (Volleyball)

Men’s Team Performance of the Year – 2013 Men's Tennis team winning the Little East Conference championship
Women’s Team Performance of the Year – Volleyball winning NCAA Regional title for the second straight year

Male Individual Performance of the Year – Alex Loyer (Men's Tennis) – Won 26 straight matches in 2013
Female Individual Performance of the Year – Elizabeth Glavan (Volleyball) – Named NCAA Regional Championship Tournament MVP after leading Beacons to 3-1 win over Williams College.

Top Play of Campus – Marcus Pizzetti (Men’s Soccer) Diced up the defense to score a 3-on-1 goal against Emmanuel College

Top Late Game-Winner – Tayla Andrews (Women's Soccer) Scored the game-winning goal over regionally-ranked Brandeis University.

The final awards were handed out by Associate Athletic Director Cheryl Aaron and Vice Chancellor of Athletics and Recreation Charlie Titus.

Cheryl Aaron presented the William Puerto Award which is presented to the student-athlete who displays an exemplary level of sportsmanship, ability and overall contribution to the department and athletic program at UMass Boston.  The winner is a graduating senior or student-athlete who has completed all of his or her eligibility and is a three or four-year participant in varsity athletics.

Female Puerto Award Recipient – Shelby Buck (Women's Basketball)
Male Puerto Award Recipient – Charles Lai (Men’s Tennis)

Vice Chancellor Titus presented the Athletic Director’s Distinguished Student-Athlete Award which is given annually to an individual who has displayed an exemplary academic and athletic career at UMass Boston.  The recipient is a graduating senior or person who has completed all of his or her eligibility, was a three or four-year participant in intercollegiate sports and has been an outstanding overall contributor to the promotion and reputation of UMass Boston academics and athletics.

Female Athletics Director Award Recipient – Sam Cristoforo (Women's Soccer)
Male Athletics Director Award Recipient – Travis Daniel (Men’s Ice Hockey)