Men's Hockey's Colin Larkin Signs Contract with Edmonton Oilers Organization

Men's Hockey's Colin Larkin Signs Contract with Edmonton Oilers Organization

Bakersfield Condors Release 

BOSTON, Mass.—UMass Boston men's hockey senior captain Colin Larkin (Boston, Mass.) made history Monday afternoon, when he signed a pair of contracts with the Edmonton Oilers organization.

The two-time New England Hockey Conference player of the year will spend the rest of the 2017-18 season with the Oilers American Hockey League (AHL) affiliate, the Bakersfield Condors, after signing an amateur try-out contract.

He also signed a one-year National Hockey League (NHL) entry-level contract with the Oilers for the 2018-19 season.

Larkin is the first player in program history to sign an NHL contract. His 2018-19 contract is a two-way deal-that could see him earn a spot with the pro team.

He wrapped up his Beacons' career as one of the top skaters to ever suit up in Beacons' Blue.

Larkin finished his career as the program record holder in games played (111) and power-play goals (23). He ranks in the top-five in program history in goals (64-t-4th), assists (84-3rd), points (148-4th) and game-winning goals (nine-3rd).

As a senior, Larkin posted a career-high 24 goals, 46 points and 10 power-play goals.

The Bakersfield Condors (22-21-8-1) have 24 games remaining in their 2017-18 schedule. The California-based team currently sits in eighth place out of eight teams in the AHL's Pacific Division. They are just 10 points out of a playoff spot, with four teams qualifying for the playoffs from each division.

Bakersfield's next game is on Friday at 7 p.m. (PST), when they host the Stockton Heat. 

Larkin will be joined on the roster by Endicott College's Logan Day, who also signed an amateur try-out contract with the Condors on Monday. 

Larkin is not the only Beacon to have signed a pro contract recently. In past year, Tyler Bishop ('17), Stephen Buco ('15), Dan Cornell ('15) and Travis Daniel ('14) have all signed contracts with teams from the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) or the Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL).