Women’s Hockey Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

Women’s Hockey Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

BOSTON, Mass. – After another historic season, the women's ice hockey team celebrated the 2017-18 campaign, and their five senior members at their annual awards banquet in the Edward T. Barry Ice Rink.

In front of family and friends, members of the women's hockey team were honored by their coaches for another tremendous season, which saw them advance back to the NEHC title game for the second time in three years.

The program started by honoring the First Goal award winners.  They then recognized the 13 players that earned a spot on the NEHC All-Academic team.  From there the All-Conference and All-Region honorees were presented their certificates.

This year's major award winners were presented by previous award winners.

Rookie of the Year, presented by Julia Nolan: Jane Ann Drill
Most Improved Player, presented by Chloe Austin: Katie Leffler
Strength & Conditioning Award, presented by current Assistant Coach and 2016 award winner Alexandra Karlis '16: Kaleigh Beauregard (repeat winner)
Unsung Hero Award, presented by Sara Alonardo '17: Katie Barry
MVP, presented by two-time award winner Rachel Myette: Jane Morrisette
Katherine Wall 7th Player Award presented by Alexa Cappione '16: Maren Brown

Following the presentation of the awards, seniors (pictured left & standing L to R) Alli Bianchini, Katie Jeter, Katie Barry, Maren Brown, and Rachel Myette each had an opportunity to speak about their time at UMass Boston.