2016 UMass Boston Volleyball Preseason Capsule

2016 UMass Boston Volleyball Preseason Capsule

Little East Conference Preseason Coaches' Poll

2016 Schedule Breakdown

2015 Season highlights


1. UMass Boston is looking to set the Little East Conference record for most tournament championships with seven.  The Beacons are currently tied with Western Connecticut State University for most titles all-time with six.  The two teams are also tied for most consecutive tournament titles won with five each.  The Beacons won their first tournament title in 2009, and have since won championship in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015.

2. The Beacons will also look to win their fourth NCAA Regional Crown since their first in 2010.  The Beacons won back-to-back titles in 2012 and 2013, and returned to the regional tournament in 2015, before falling in the first round.

3. Seniors Pepper Baker, Julia Murphy, and Elizabeth Glavan have led the Beacons to 56 wins during their three seasons, including going 20-1 in Little East Conference Play.

4. Glavan currently stands as the only Beacon in program history to ever be named a 3-time LEC Defensive Player of the Year, while Murphy sits tied with all-time leader in kills Shannon Thompson for most Offensive Player of the Year awards in program history.  The duo are also two-time All-Americans, with Glavan earning Third Team honors and Murphy earning Honorable Mention honors in 2015.

5. Condon enters the 2016 season with a record of 229-121 in her 11 seasons at UMB.  Co-head Michael Houlihan has led the Beacons to 56 wins since his promotion to Co-Head Coach in 2013.  All-time Condon boasts a record of 431-234 in a career that earned her a place in the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Hall of Fame in 2015.  


1 Michelle St. Louis
2 Pepper Baker
3 Alex Gibbs
4 Colleen Koen
5 Rachel Maslach
6 Julia Murphy
7 Ashley McCarthy
8 Christina Elliott
9 Shaya Shally-Jensen
10 Melanie Fyda
11 Eileen Shi
12 Samantha Weiner
13 Emily Steinberg
14 Elizabeth Glavan
15 Macayla Chianco
16 Sarah Dyole
17 Ariana Casingal
18 Sidnee Berch
19 Emma Glover
20 Laura Roman-Castro
21 Margaret Parker